So who are you anyway, and what do you do?

I’m a Joy Germ who loves to find a faster way to process stuff (that questions does remind me of my first bus ride to Wellington East Girls College – another time)
 
What do I do? I help Xero build more roads and hospitals.

What was your last job before getting into this?

I worked for my husband’s Commercial Design & Project Management company – creating work spaces for large companies like Microsoft, DHL, Amex, Cathy, Adidas etc

And why did you decide to do what you do now?

After I built our own in-house software with a developer I basically replaced myself!

What is it about the 60/70/80/90s that you miss most?  (Choose one)

Abba, my hair brush and bedroom stereo.

What is the biggest challenge facing SMEs today?

Themselves.

Can cloud software solve that challenge?  And if so, how? And if not, what can?

I think cloud software is a tool they can use to help them dream bigger.

If you could retire now, what would you do? Or not do?

Right now I’d be in San Francisco with a wind machine.

If you could give your younger self some advice, what would it be?

Stop being a know-it-all and get a business mentor (learn fast and make a gizillion mistakes).

If you could buy anyone a drink in a bar and chat to them about anything, who would it be, what drink, and what would you talk about?

I’d take Audrey Hepburn to The Blue Door in Arrowtown for a Mt Michael Pinot Gris and we’d talk about shoes and handbags.

If you could walk up to anyone, kick them in the shins and shout something at them, who would it be, and what would you shout?  Go on….get it off your chest!

My chickens – 3 of them are not laying and I don’t want my husband to boil them up – sooooooo – you chics better lay or you are TOAST!

If you could walk up to anyone and hug them, who would it be, and why?

My mum, Cindy Moltzen, she has DNA that should be bottled, taught us kids that family has no boundaries.  Hugs are plentiful and cost nothing – give them always.  My favourite – ‘if it hurts, do something that doesn’t’.  Love her.

What’s your favourite meat and gravy meal?

Roast Port, must have crunchy skin, mushroom sauce, mash potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower (yes, spell check was involved).

What is your greatest achievement?

Giving my dad’s Eulogy without completely breaking down.

What do you want to achieve that you haven’t as yet?

To learn French and have a summer picnic in Tuscany Valley.

What’s next for you?

The world.

Gayle is Chief Numbers Nurse of Online Bookkeepers in New Zealand

@gayle_buchanan


Leave a Reply

